More Japan Travel ArticlesMore Travel Articles

Top Levels of Five-Roof Pagoda

by Bob Kerstetter

Sakura frame the five roof pagoda adjacent to Tōshō-gū (東照宮), a Shinto shrine in Ueno Park, Tokyo, Japan. Sakura are cherry blossoms.

The five roofs of the pagoda represent the five elements — earth, water, fire, wind and heaven or sky.

Tōshō-gū enshrines the spirit of Tokugawa Ieyasu, the founder of the last shogun government of Japan.

Top Levels of Five-Roof Pagoda

Love Us On Facebook!